Monday, November 14, 2011

Review: Lonestar Angel (Lonestar #4) by Colleen Coble

About author:
RITA finalist Colleen Coble lives with her husband, Dave, in Indiana. She is the author of several novels including Abomination, the Rock Harbor Series, the Aloha Reef Series, and two Women of Faith fiction selections, Alaska Twilight and Midnight Sea. Her newest novel, Anathema, is in stores now.

You can find Colleen Coble here.

Lonestar Angel (Lonestar #4)
by Colleen Coble

Paperback, 320 pages
Published November 8th 2011 by Thomas Nelson
(first published November 1st 2011)
ISBN 1595542698 (ISBN13: 9781595542694)
series Lonestar #4

For Eden, hope is rekindled when her estranged husband delivers the astounding news: that their lost baby girl has been found.

Years ago Eden and Clay Larson's baby was stolen. Kidnappers demanded a ransom, but something went horribly wrong at the exchange: the kidnapper's car crashed into the river and was never recovered. Eden blamed herself, Clay lost himself in work. Their young and rocky marriage ended. Or so Eden thought.

Now she's met Kent. He's everything Clay wasn't: funny, stable, and eager to please her. Just as he's about to propose marriage at a romantic dinner, Clay arrives and tells Eden she can't marry Kent. She's still married to him. He never signed the divorce decree. Even more earth-shattering than this news is that he's never stopped looking for Brianna. Based on a tip, he thinks their daughter is in Bluebird, Texas, at a youth ranch. All five little girls there are the right age, but he's not sure which is Brianna.

To discover the truth, the couple becomes counselors to the girls at Bluebird Ranch. They move into small quarters in the bunkhouse and oversee the kids as they try to find out more. As they work together, their love for the children grows and their love for each other is rekindled. But as danger closes in, Eden and Clay realize they've been lured to this remote West Texas location; their lives and the lives of the little girls are in danger. But as Eden learns, "hope does not disappoint."

My Thoughts:
Eden and Clay Larson are torn apart after their six weeks old baby is kidnapped and pronounced dead without finding her body. Eden files for divorce and tries to build a new life. But Clay refuses to give up on looking for his daughter even after five years. Clay gets a lead about his daughter and confronts Eden with a link to finding Brianna. They sign up as counselors for young girls at the Bluebird Ranch. They meet with so many obstacles trying to find their child. Letting nothing stand in the way.

This is a beautiful story of unending love and determination to keep a family together. The author brings out such a powerful connection between God and the characters. The suspense will have your head in the book until the very end.

This is book four in this series and I have read one through three also. Each and everyone of these books take place at the Bluebird Ranch, an amazing place for children to come to heal emotionally while interacting with abandoned and unwanted horses.

I highly recommend this series.

I rate this book a 5 out of 5

I received this book from Booksneeze and Netgalley review. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.


  1. This one sounds pretty good. I may try it. Do you recommend reading the first books in the series first or is it possible to jump right in?

  2. It can stand alone but I recommend you read the others first.