Tuesday, November 20, 2012

LONE STAR TRAIL ~ Texas Trails ~ A Morgan Family series, book one

About Book

The six-book series about four generations of the Morgan family living, fighting, and thriving amidst a turbulent Texas history spanning from 1845 to 1896 begins with Lone Star Trail.  Although a series, each book can be read on its own.

Judson "Jud" Morgan's father died for Texas' freedom during the war for independence. So when the Society for the Protection of German Immigrants in Texas (the Verein) attempts to colonize a New Germany in his country, he takes a stand against them.

After Wande Fleischers' fiancé marries someone else, the young fraulein determines to make a new life for herself in Texas. With the help of Jud's sister Marion, Wande learns English and becomes a trusted friend to the entire Morgan family.

As much as Jud dislikes the immigrant invasion, he can't help admiring Wande's character. She is sweet and cheerful as she serves the Lord and all those around her. Can the rancher put aside his prejudice to forge a new future?  Through Jud and Wande, we learn the powerful lessons of forgiveness and reconciliation among a diverse community of believers.

ISBN: 978-0-8024-0583-8
Published by Moody Publishers
Publish date: August, 2011
Page Count: 288
Dimensions: 5.5 x 8.5
Format: Paperback

Read Excerpt here

More info about The Morgan Family series here.

Where to buy: AmazonBanes&NobleChristianbook.com

About Author

DARLENE FRANKLIN is the author of fourteen contracted books and novellas as well as several hundred short pieces. Two of her books have been finalists in ACFW's Book of the year contest: Dressed in Scarlet and A String of Murders. Darlene lives in Oklahoma near her son's family. 

Visit her website www.darlenefranklinwrites.blogspot.com 

My Thoughts

My children's Great Grandparents have roots to the German's that immigrated to Texas. Their has one of the first homesteads registered in Williamson County. It was not easy for anyone during those days.

Darlene Franklin writes about about two families trying to build a life in the new state of Texas. Wande Fleischer along with her siblings and parents have immigrated to Texas in 1845 to start a new life in this promised land of milk and honey.  Then there is the Morgan family whom raises Morgan horses on the Running M Ranch near Victoria, Texas.

Jud Morgan is portrayed as somewhat of a bigot not wanting to accept the Germans or the Mexican as landowners on Texas soil. Love thy neighbor as thyself, seems to be the moral of this story.  There is so many hardships for not just these two families but the whole community.  Franklin shows that with prayer God can reach the hardened heart of a man's soul.

There are six books in this series and they are written by several authors.

I am looking forward to the other stand alone books in this series.

I highly Recommend this book.

I rated this book a 5 out of 5.

I received a digital copy from Netgalley/Moody Publishers for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review.  It is my own opinion.

If you found this review helpful vote yes or no here.

1 comment:

  1. This sounds like an interesting book. Thanks for your thoughts and the review. Hope you have a wonderful holiday week! :O)


    P.S.-I have 4 giveaways going on at my site this week if you're interested in stopping over.